Classification and Diversity

Phaeophyta belongs to the kingdom Chromista . This includes other such organisms as diatoms, water molds, and golden algae. The chromists are, for the most part, photosynthetic. They are, however, not closely related to plants nor other algae. The name " Chromista " means colored, coming from the fact that they have other pigments in addition to chlorophyll. This is what gives them their characteristic colors (brown or gold). Here are pictures of some chromists. The picture, as well as this information, comes from this website:

Introduction to Phaeophyta

There are approximately 1,500 different species of Phaeophyta. This phylum is sub-divided into nine orders: Ectocarpales, Tilopteridales, Cutleriales, Sporochnales, Desmarestiales, Laminariales, Sphacelariales, Dictyotales, and Fucales. Here are pictures of a few! (I apologize for my poor scanning skills, but you get the picture! Ha! Ha! ;-)

Here's bull kelp, the common name for Durvillea antarctica , in New Zealand.

This is Laminaria . The structures here will be discussed in morphology and evolutionary history .

Finally, this is a photo of Fucus vesiculosus , or rockweed.

Cool, huh?

Want to get back to the first page? Click me!